Sun is the King of all Planets (Grahas). He causes the day. Among weekdays, He rules “Sunday”.

Sun is the Son of Kashyapa Maharshi and Aditi. Sun is known as Aditya (son of Aditi) and Surya. Lot of hymns about Surya (Sun) are available in our Puranas like Rig Veda and Srimad Bhagavatam.

Rig Veda 1.35.9 : “The sun moves in its own orbit but holding earth and other heavenly bodies in a manner that they do not collide with each other through force of attraction”.

In Astrology, Sun represents Soul, Health, Father, Power, Eyes, Heart, Bone, Wheat, Ruby, Copper, Forests, Government, King and so on.

Sun is the Lord of Leo sign (Simha Rasi). Sun exalts in Aries sign (Mesha Rasi) and Debilitates in Libra sign (Thula Rasi). Moolatrikona House is Leo (Simha Rasi).

Deities of Sun are Siva, Agni & Narayana.

Direction of the Sun is East.

Srimad Bhagavata Purana mentions Twelve Adityas. These are different forms of Sun God. Each Aditya rules a particular month. The below chart shows the Twelve Adityas and the ruling months.

Name of Aditya Month Lunar Month
Dhata Mar – Apr Chaitra
Aryama Apr – May Vaisakha
Mitra May – Jun Jyeshta
Varuna Jun – Jul Ashada
Indra Jul – Aug Sravana
Vivaswan Aug – Sep Bhadrapada
Tvashta Sep – Oct Aswayuja
Vishnu Oct – Nov Kartika
Anshuman Nov – Dec Margasira
Bhaga Dec – Jan Pushya
Pusha Jan – Feb Magha
Parjanya Feb – Mar Phalguna


Back to Vedic Astrology

1 thought on “SUN – SURYA – ADITYA”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top